If Pete Rose Had A Weekend Like Me, He’d Quit Gambling

Hopefully you didn’t put your money where my mouth was this weekend, because I lost three of the four NFL playoff games and only the late Heath Ledger’s posthumous win for Best Supporting Actor prevented me from having a clean sweep in the major film categories at the Golden Globes. That would be a sweep in reverse

My one ace in the hole was The Joker

My one ace in the hole was The Joker

What I did know…

  • Either Slumdog Millionaire or Benjamin Button would grab three majors: Best Drama, Best Screenplay and Best Director.
  • An actress would win two major awards
  • 30 Rock and John Adams would sweep their nominations
  • Pre-written “presenter speeches” would still suck the life out of the room

What I didn’t expect…

  • Those Foreign Press people really love their Irishmen (Byrne, Farrell upset victors)
  • They were as apathetic about Mamma Mia as I was
  • Neither Bardem nor Cruz won for Vicki Cristina Barcelona despite being early favorites
  • In a category where long time press darlings Brad Pitt and Sean Penn were available, the HFPA showed Mickey Rourke the love.

My favorite moments of the evening:

  • Springsteen winning the Globe for “The Wrestler” and cracking on Clint Eastwood. I was glad he won because I hoped it would draw more attention to the film; little did I know what lied ahead.
  • Colin Farrell’s heartfelt speech about how art is really love in action
  • Tina Fey and Tracy Morgan rocking the mike with material they scribbled on napkins at the awards table
  • Ricky Gervais. The line about “no gag reel” in Schindler’s List was killer, but the one he wasn’t allowed to say (the ad for the DVD said to “have a box of tissues ready”, and I thought “well that’s sick…”) was even better. Plus the crack to Winslet about how he advised her to “do a Holocaust movie if you want to win an award”, referring to her hilarious guest performance on his show Extras. Gervais is flat out brilliant in both the US and UK interpretation of the word.
  • The genuine warmth and excitement for Mickey Rourke, and his humble but funny acceptance speech. This was the win I wanted more than any other, but even I didn’t think he’s have enough votes. I guess I’ll have to update the comeback story.
  • Dennis Leary telling a post-show interviewer that he’s audtioning to play one of Mickey Rourke’s dogs in an upcoming movie because he can’t seem to win as an actor playing people.

Even though he didn’t win, I can’t say enough about Sean Penn’s powerhouse performance in Milk, a film almost totally overlooked in last night’s nominations. The entire cast is phenomenal; the out reel shows each actor’s photo in character followed by photos of the real people they were playing, and even the physical resemblances are astonishing. I was deeply moved by the film, recalling the horror and astonishment I felt at the time of the actual events, and Gus van Sant deserves major praise for the way he structured the story using flashbacks, actual footage and voice-over; three techniques that can usually sink a film. Also kudos to Josh Brolin, whose Dan White slowly disintegrates before your eyes. Nice roll he’s on with Milk, No Country For Old Men and Wplus he gets to go home to Diane Lane? That’s a long way from being in The Goonies, my friends.

2 Comments

Filed under Editorials, Film/TV

2 responses to “If Pete Rose Had A Weekend Like Me, He’d Quit Gambling

  1. Mickey Rourke filled his role in The Wrestler really well… maybe too well

  2. Pingback: Up The Academy « Dr. Bristol’s Prescription

Leave a Reply

