R.I.P. Sky, Angel…Jacko?

Bad day gets worse.

Sky Saxon left this mortal coil. Possible he was only visiting, anyway.

sky saxon

 

And Farrah Fawcett, the First Angel, now is one. Peace, at last.

farrah fawcett

These things usually happen in threes. I hope I won’t be updating this later.

I’m dreading surfing the Internet over the next few hours.

  ***

(6pm update:    uh-oh…) 

??

7pm: most news orgs confirm story.

7:30PM…People are trying to pile on by claiming Jeff GoldbumHarrison Ford and/or (insert celebrity name here) are dead. Apparently these are people who do not know who Sky Saxon was or did not count Ed McMahon from the other day, and are looking for a third death for their Dead Pool. And yes, Keith Richards is alive. Stop “tweeting”,  you idiots – you’re going to kill the Internet!

Surreal that Jacko died – I must admit my first thought was “publicity stunt”. Some will remember him as a cultural icon; I remember a likeable kid singer who turned into a circus freak. I never owned a copy of Thriller and found it sad that despite his world fame, he had to anoint himself as the King Of Pop rather than have the audience bestow an honor upon him.

But mostly I tend to pity him – by all reports he had a horrible chldhood and an abnormal, freakish adult life. And since only he, the kids and his Maker know what really happened in all those beds full of underage children, that ledger is now being settled by a far greater power than my opinion.

***

Farrah’s passing – AP story

Sky Saxon website.

Serene Dominic’s “better than Jagger” obit.

Jacko death scare – not the first time. Wiki will clear it up.

^*:*^

3 Comments

Filed under Editorials, Film/TV, Music

3 responses to “R.I.P. Sky, Angel…Jacko?

  1. Michael

    The great Tim Krekel died of cancer yesterday…do things happen in fours?

  2. drbristol

    Or fives, if you count Ed. I guess I started the clock with Saxon.

    On Krekel…someone I know from another list was friends with Tim and talked about him leaving the hospital last Friday. He didn’t want to eat from a tube – he wanted to live out his time at home and die with dignity (which apparently was how he lived his life and treated others). I wish I could reprint what she wrote, but suffice to say that it painted a portrait of an unselfish man who was extremely talented and appreciated every blessing and left an indelible mark on many people. I wish I had met him.

  3. stuff

    Also NME writer died of Hodgkins this week. He was the best reason to read the NME.

Leave a Reply

