New Album! Black Crowes

 black crowes warpaint

I’ll put my cards on the table and tell you that I did not slip this DVD in the player with an open mind. Since I thought Warpaint was the best album of 2008, I had high expectations for this show where the band played the album – in sequence – live. Show me, boyos.

But the Black Crowes did not falter, they delivered, and the performance left me pondering where Luther Dickinson belongs on the list of great guitar players. He is amazing.

The 2008/2009 configuration of the band might be the best ever. Chris Robinson is in great voice, and brother Rich doesn’t have to shoulder the pyrotechnics on guitar. The rhythm section is top notch, Sven Pipien and Scott Gorman are formidable and keyboard player Adam MacDougall is a secret weapon. A Black Crowes show is as much about atmosphere as it is about performance, and as they have shown us before, seeing is believing.

This is a rejuvenated band catching a second wind and maximizing the opportunity. I cannot wait to hear the new album that’s dropping today. But until it arrives? Yeah, this puppy will hold me over bigtime. Warpaint Live is a blast.

Read all about it in my review in Blurt.

Read my thoughts about the studio album Warpaint here.

black crowes peace

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, Reviews

Leave a Reply

