T.G.I.F. – Ten Bands/Artists I Miss

Well, reunited without all that cheesy drama, anyway

Seems like everyone is getting back together these days, whether for money or a shot at career closure; some are actually reinvigorated and creating viable new music. So if you are pining the loss or lethargy of a favorite band or artist, there’s hope.

(Of course, nothing would be better than the three guys in the forefront of this picture sharing a stage again. Maybe if I leave that tooth under my pillow…)

Doesn’t have to be someone on a Van Halen level. For example, Fastball thought they had taken a long enough hiatus and decided to regroup – the result was a great new record. So why not our favorites?

So here’s ten acts right off the top of my head that are dormant; I wish they were making records right now. At least I have the fruits of their labor to date to savor over and over again. If any of these are new to you, please check them out. Maybe it will make you revive a few of your own favorites.

Because that’s the beauty of legacy. It’s right there.

Redd Kross:  Congrats on the new baby and all, but come on – make an album!

Cotton Mather:  Living on in other bands, but Kon Tiki is godhead.

The Pursuit of Happiness:  Too good to be satisfied with reunions.

The Tories:  So promising. So good. What happened?

Liquor Giants:  How about Something Special for the Adults?

World Party:  This generation’s Klaatu, the homage must go on.

Jen Trynin:  Disillusioned the first time, suck it up and get back out there.

Love NutAndy Bopp, put Myracle Brah aside and rock me again.

Tonio K:  I know you’re sitting on pure gold. Share it, brother.

The Montgomery CliffsJoey Salvia is solo but a reunion would be magic.

4 Comments

Filed under Music, Reviews

4 responses to “T.G.I.F. – Ten Bands/Artists I Miss

  1. Redd Kross are still together, supposedly. It could happen.

    I’d love to see TPOH do a reunion tour or something. I never got to see them back in the day and their first three album still loom large in my fevered brain.

    It’s heresy to say it, but I think I like Robert Harrison’s new band Future Clouds & Radar better than Cotton Mather. Though that’s like saying I like dark chocolate better than milk chocolate – wouldn’t say no to either.

  2. drbristol

    Kross is together but the long-rumored album is still not happening. Not quite Guns’n’Roses territory yet, but…

    No heresy on FC&R as there’s none on Love Nut / Myracle Brah – not looking for dissolution of the new form but just greedily wanting both (I like dark chocolate better myself)

  3. Joseph Fine

    It appears that you’ve put a good amount of effort into your article and I want a lot more of these on the web these days. I truly got a kick out of your post.

  4. me

    Pssst….

    Andy Bopp HAS decided to rock you again.

Leave a Reply

