Two Out Of Three Ain’t Bad

 

Prediction-wise, that is. But not happy about it. 

I had a bad feeling that America was going to reject Laurie Kilmartin and James Adomian after last week’s set, and unfortunately those were the first two severed. When Jonathan Thymius and Maronzio Vance came out (what is it with finishing the eliminations with a duo?) I felt sure I was three-for-three even though if I were voting I would have sent Vance packing along with Rachel Feinstein and Felipe Esparza

But somehow, despite a strange and awkward set, Thymius survived. Did America really want to punish Vance for blowing his punch line last week? Because I don’t get how they can dig deep enough to enjoy Thymius’ surreal act yet not see the charm in Adomian’s equally obtuse direction. And god knows what will happen next week, because Thymius had an even stranger set with a really weak close…although he did slip a teabagging reference past the censors. 

Teabagging the toilet water?

I do not understand the fascination with Rachel Feinstein as a stand-up comic. She’s very attractive and leggy and is comfortable on stage and does great voices…but there are no jokes! I agree with some bloggers who suggest a career in voice-over work; she could be a versatile player in the animated world as long as someone else is writing the material. All she did last night was another extended ethnic rant

Myq Kaplan continued to riff strong material (although familiar to anyone who has his album) and once again he tagged a prior comic’s set to good results. And Tommy Johnagin continues to kill, peppering punch lines and adding that little bit extra, like pointing out his sweat stain and mocking the judges. I thought Mike DeStefano was more miss than hit this time around, although the “does it clean shame” line was solid. 

Roy Wood Jr. continues to be consistently good – never great – but always enough to get a few laughs. And while I’m not a Felipe Esparza fan, this was probably his best set; the crowd loves him. I’m starting to believe that it’s going to come down to the ethnic comic and the comic who can’t avoid ethnic schtick. That would be sad, but we are talking about a show that crowned Dat Phan as the funniest comedian. 

The best parts of the show continue to be Craig Robinson’s one-liners coming in or out of commercials. The judges are back, but why? They don’t criticize anyone – everyone is great and their sets are solid? It’s insulting to watch. I enjoy Greg Giraldo’s quips and Andy Kindler is reason enough to watch the show. And I’ve seen Natasha Leggero be funny, but it’s yet to happen on this program. But the bigger issue is that America is voting and they aren’t judging anything anymore – so why the pretense? 

Not certain how many go home next week but I predict the next two voted home are Thymius and Kaplan. Sadly, America will get what it deserves

— 

"Sitting in the back of a car..."

R.I.P. bass player Andy Hummel, leaving only drummer Jody Stephens with us from the late great Big Star (no, I don’t count Jon Auer and Ken Stringfellow). I don’t really have to make any special effort to pull a Big Star album out of the racks as they’ve been in rotation for…oh, almost forty years

Hummel had been battling cancer for the last two years. My friend (and Not Lame honcho) Bruce Brodeen posted that he had seen Andy at SXSW in March, where despite his illness he flew in from halfway across the world to participate in the tribute. Bruce said his playing was “a blessing“, and I guess if you’re going to strap in for a last gig that would not be a bad one to go out on. 

Blurt and EW announcements.

2 Comments

Filed under Comedy, Film/TV, Music, Reviews

2 responses to “Two Out Of Three Ain’t Bad

  1. I haven’t been a huge fan of Feinstein up to this point, but I must say, she did bring it last night. I think her set had her most adventurous and funny material to date. If she has more of that in her I can find myself becoming a fan.

    I’m still digging Felipe Esparza and Jonathan Thymius. Felipe is funny, but what makes him hilarious to me is his delivery and persona…kinda like how Mitch Hedberg was an entire package. If you just read a Mitch Hedberg joke on paper it may not seem funny – but when Hedberg delivered it you might cry laughing. Thymius is just so damn absurd I can’t help but love him. I’m not sure how long he can ride that character before he has to take it to another level – I can see it getting old if he isn’t able to bring the big laughs consistantly.

    I wan’t too surprised to see Kilmartin or Adomian go this week. Kilmartin’s set last week wasn’t that great. I thought Adomian’s Giamatti impression last week was hysterical but I had a feeling it was flying over the American viewing public’s head. As brilliant as Paul Giamatti is, I don’t think he’s a big enough household name for the typical LCS viewer.

    The biggest hit of the night for me had to be Roy Wood Jr. He really killed! His material was original and hilarious, and as Kindler said, you WANT to keep listening to him. He really does suck you in.

  2. drbristol

    I’m just not a fan of what Feinstein “brings”…to me all she’s doing is voices and accents with weak material. Very good voices and accents, but where are the jokes?

    I also like Thymius’s surreal persona but cannot believe he didn’t weird himself out of the running already. DiStefano is hit and miss (the hits are worth it) and Wood is consistent but I think the two best stand-ups are Kaplan and Johnagin, and I doubt either makes it to the final three (I predict Wood, Esparza and Feinstein).

Leave a Reply

