T.G.I.F. – Ten Classic Costello Cuts

As I mentioned on his birthday earlier this week, Elvis Costello entered my life with a bag and has hung around ever since. I do admit that I find his earlier work superior, but I’ve been pleasantly surprised at his transcendence from faux angry young man to elder statesman. Not that I don’t punch a hole through the ceiling anytime I hear “Radio Radio“…

And for a man who once called Ray Charles a “blind ignorant nigger” in a drunken stupor, I think his track record has borne out that he’s a musical historian who is truly color blind.

As with many good artists, listing ten great songs – or even albums for some – is going to leave something out. But these weekly lists aren’t meant to be the definitive inclusive barometers of taste. Sometimes they’re just ten great things. Today, that is most certainly the case.

Listen to a wealth of Elvis Costello clips here.

So as you prepare to enjoy your weekend, may I offer Ten Classic Costello Cuts for your dining and dancing pleasure? And my God, if you have any doubt that Elvis is King, please play clip number one…

01) “What’s So Funny ’bout Peace Love and Understanding?”  Seeing double lately?

02) “High FidelitySome things you never get used to

03) “No ActionEvery time I phone you I just want to put you down

04) “Everyday I Write The BookWhen your dreamboat turns out to be a footnote.

05) “I Can’t Stand Up For Falling DownThe vow that we made, you broke it in two.

06) “Pump It Up”  She’s been a bad girl, she’s like a chemical

07) “Oliver’s ArmyNo there’s no danger, it’s a professional career

08) “Watching The DetectivesShe looks so good that he gets down and begs

09) “VeronicaDid you wake from your dream with a wolf at the door

10) “Alison”…segueing into “Suspicious Minds“! I heard you let that little friend of mine take off your party dress

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, Reviews

Leave a Reply

