Golden Globes Tonight

Well, this should be interesting…

Predicting the Golden Globe winners is a hit-and-miss affair, mostly because some of the members are plain batshit crazy. How else do you explain Johnny Depp’s two nominations in films that were widely panned?

But what the hell, I’ll take a crack at it. Below are my picks for who I think will win, not who I would want to win. And if you would like to play along, here’s a printable Globes ballot for you.

Best Picture (Drama)
The Social Network” – in a field of five good nominees, I would not be mad if any of them won.

Best Picture (Comedy/Musical)
The Kids Are All Right” – probably the perfect intersection of theme and actress for this voting group.

Best Director
Christopher Nolan, “Inception” – amazing film needs to get some reward, right?

Best Actor (Drama)
Colin Firth, “The King’s Speech” – great performance + voter guilt for prior exclusions

Best Actor (Comedy/Musical)
Johnny Depp, “Alice in Wonderland” – I would have wiped all five nominees and started fresh.

Best Actress (Drama)
Nicole Kidman, “Rabbit Hole” – I hope I’m wrong but the HFPA loves Nicole Kidman.

Best Actress (Comedy/Musical)
Annette Bening, “The Kids Are All Right” – see Nicole Kidman, above.

Best Supporting Actor
Christian Bale, “The Fighter” – if Michael Douglas wins I will shoot my television.

Best Supporting Actress
Melissa Leo, “The Fighter” – many say Helena Bonham Carter is a lock, but…

Best Screenplay
The Social Network” – Aaron Sorkin should be the safe bet here.

I can’t even bear to think about their television nominations because of the long list of oversights and the nomination of Matthew Morrison for Best Actor for Glee. But I am very much looking forward to watching Ricky Gervais eviscerate the celebrities.

My review of the show will run tomorrow.

Leave a comment

Filed under Editorials, Film/TV, Reviews

Leave a Reply

