New Album! Matthew Sweet

The new album from Matthew Sweet is streaming at Soundcloud!

I must admit I’m not immediately blown away by Modern Art, although I can hear equal parts of his early pop and latter-day garage covers. Some songs are just not connecting at all. But tracks like “Sleeping” and “When Love Lets Go I’m Falling” hit the spot with me. Sweet has been hit or miss the last couple of releases, but he’s had a hell of a career run, and I would never count him out.

I can’t believe it’s been twenty years since Girlfriend, an album I can pull out at any time; I smell a Blast From The Past column on that one sometime soon. But that was then and this is now, and I will give this album an honest chance.

So check it out for yourself, end to end, for free.

1 Comment

Filed under Music, Reviews

One response to “New Album! Matthew Sweet

  1. Ah yes. Girlfriend. The CD I drove 40 minutes for at night to pick up after reading a review of it. I was never so happy I followed my instincts and was impulsive. I have enjoyed a long musical career and cannot wait to hear something new from Matthew Sweet.
    I agree, I can putt it out or play it on my ipod at any time and enjoy it 110%.

    michael

Leave a Reply

