Daily Archives: June 1, 2011

Paint From Pain

I think we migraine sufferers have a secret bond, because they haven’t invented the description yet to explain it to someone who has never had one. I’ll try.

Your head is squeezed in a vice grip. Opening your eyes feels like lifting steel doors with your pinky. Even the slightest movement makes your head feel like a jigsaw puzzle about to slip off the table and break back into a million pieces.

Ian McLagan, one of my musical favorites, shares my pain. But unlike me, he channeled it into art. I guess that’s what artists do, right?

I’ll have more to sat about this musical legend after I see him play in concert in a couple of weeks. But until then, while you are checking out his music and his book, don’t forget to check out his wonderful paintings.

Face the music

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, Reviews